Research, Surveys and Evaluation Branch is responsible for all research and evaluation studies conducted within or on behalf of Information Canada. The Branch will also co-ordinate and plan research programs on behalf of other government departments and agencies, on request.

Information Canada reported to Parliament through the Minister of Labour.

International Boundary Commission. The Commission functions by virtue of the treaty of 1925 between Canada and the United States and the International Boundary Commission Act (RSC 1970, c.I-19). The International Boundary Commissioners, one for Canada and one for the United States, are empowered to inspect the boundary, to repair, relocate and rebuild monuments, to keep the boundary vistas open, to regulate all "work" within 10 ft of the boundary including structures of any kind or earthwork, to maintain at all times an effective boundary line and to determine the location of any point on the boundary necessary to settle any question that may arise between the two governments. Each country pays the salaries of its Commissioner and his assistants and the costs of maintaining the boundary are shared equally. The Canadian section of the Commission is within the Department of Energy, Mines and Resources for administrative purposes but the Canadian Commissioner reports functionally to the Secretary of State for External Affairs. The Commissioners meet at least once annually, alternately in Ottawa and Washington.

International Development Research Centre. Established as a public corporation by Act of Parliament (RSC 1970, c.21, 1st Supp.), the International Development Research Centre is an international organization supported financially by Canada. Its objectives are to initiate, encourage, support and conduct research into the problems of developing countries and into methods of applying and adapting scientific and technical knowledge to their socio-economic advancement. One of the Centre's chief purposes is to assist these countries to develop their own research skills and facilities.

The International Development Research Centre's board of governors consists of a chairman, a president and not more than 19 other members, nine of whom must be Canadian citizens. The Centre reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State for External Affairs.

International Fisheries Commissions. The Minister of State (Fisheries) reports to Parliament for the Canadian sections of the several international fisheries commissions of which Canada is a member.

International Joint Commission. This Commission was established under a Britain-United States treaty signed January 11, 1909 and ratified by Canada in 1911 (RSC 1970, c.i-20). The Commission, composed of six members (three appointed by the President of the United States and three by the Government of Canada), is governed by five specific Articles of the Boundary Waters Treaty of 1909. The Commission's approval is required for any use, obstruction or diversion of boundary waters affecting the natural level or flow of boundary waters in the other country; and for any works in waters flowing from boundary waters or below the boundary in rivers flowing across the boundary which raise the natural level of waters on the other side of the boundary.

Problems arising along the common frontier are also referred to the Commission by either country for examination and report, such report to contain appropriate conclusions and recommendations. In addition, questions or matters of difference between the two countries may be referred to the Commission for decision, provided both countries consent.

The Commission has been given responsibilities under the Canada-United States Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement of April 15, 1972 to assist in the implementation of the Agreement by co-ordinating the various programs referred to therein and monitoring their effectiveness. The Commission has established a Great Lakes Regional Office at Windsor, Ont. It is staffed by American and Canadian public servants and operating costs are shared equally by the two governments.

The Commission reports to the Secretary of State for External Affairs of Canada and to the Secretary of State of the United States.

Interprovincial Boundary Commission. The Manitoba-Saskatchewan Interprovincial Boundary Commission and the Alberta-British Columbia Boundary Commission each consisting of a Commissioner from the respective provinces and the Surveyor General of Canada are, at present, the only commissions concerned with boundaries between provinces. The latter has been established as a result of the enactment in 1974 of federal and provincial Alberta-British Columbia Boundary Acts to deal with resurveys of the sinuous boundaries, the settlement of problems or disputes, and the establishment, restoration and maintenance of survey monuments. However, there are also boundary commissions responsible for the borders between the following provinces and territories: Manitoba and the Northwest Territories; Saskatchewan and the Northwest Territories; Alberta and the Northwest Territories; and British Columbia, the Yukon Territory and the Northwest Territories. All report to Parliament through the Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources.